Rainy Day Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

20120430-194937.jpg

I’m actually a little relieved that it’s raining out. Normally I would be bummed because I wouldn’t be able to run outside. However, I ran 10 miles yesterday so running one mile more is not my cup of tea right now. My hip hurts, my left shoulder hurts and my quads are sore. I’m not even sure why my arm hurts. Anyway, I hadn’t run that far since my days on the high school cross country team but it’s been a distance goal for a while now. According to my NikePlus app, I burned 918 calories in my run yesterday. In other words, I deserve a cookie. Or twelve.

I always like to have something sweet around but I also want to be good. This evening I decided it was time for some oatmeal raisin cookies. These definitely aren’t super healthy but at least they are a little lighter than most cookies. They also happen to be some of the most delicious cookies I’ve ever had.

This particular recipe is straight from the fabulous blog Oh She Glows. I normally will adapt or change recipes but I made this exactly as Angela had it and the cookies turned out perfectly. I also love that the ingredients are all items that I have on hand. I’m always baffled when recipes include ingredients like eggs or milk even though you can make delicious baked goods without either. This recipe is proof.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oats
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3.5 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp almond milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup raisins

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Grease baking sheet.

3. Mix 1 cup of the oats with the flour, brown sugar, baking soda, and cinnamon together in a food processor. Process for 20-30 seconds.

4. Soften the coconut oil in the microwave for 30 seconds.

5. Mix the remaining wet ingredients (maple syrup, almond milk and vanilla extract) with the coconut oil in a bowl.

6. Add the wet ingredients to the food processor with the dry ingredients. Process until the mixture is thoroughly combined.

7. Remove the mixture from the food processor and put it into a large bowl. Mix the remaining cup of oats and the raisins in with the mixture.

8. Roll 1-2 Tbsp of batter into a ball and flatten on the baking sheet. Continue until all batter has been used up.

9. Bake 10 minutes and allow the cookies to cool on a wire rack.

Source: Oh She Glows

20120430-194926.jpg

6 thoughts on “Rainy Day Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

