Have My Cake and Eat It, Too

20120502-215616.jpg

I ate dinner this evening with 11 vegetarians & vegans at Sobro Cafe. I got the veggie burger with avocado, tomato, lettuce, onions and sprouts. Yes, it was delicious. They have a vegan baker on the staff so she made a vegan cake for the influx of veggie customers. Yes, the cake was also delicious. I will certainly be trying out some blueberry icing recipes soon.

Enjoying dinner with like-minded vegetarians is incredibly refreshing. I love being able to order a veggie burger without someone asking where I get protein or other crazy questions. It’s also a great opportunity to discuss what’s going on in the vegetarian world like Mad Cow Disease in California and birth control pills for pigeons (who knew?). I spend so much time explaining and answering questions about vegetarianism that it’s nice to finally be around people who “get it.” No need to explain Howard Lyman, The China Study or Vitamin B12. Just pure reflection and discussion. And cake. Lots and lots of cake.

5 thoughts on “Have My Cake and Eat It, Too

Leave a Reply

