Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

I initially planned on making this for my mom’s birthday. Her birthday was yesterday and I won’t see her until next weekend so this is considered practice. It turned out as decadent as I had hoped. Trying to combine “plants” and the word “decadent” is no easy feat so I’ll take the results as a huge success. I have never enjoyed baking as much as I enjoy cooking but I do love sweets. So I can’t complain that now I have a bunch of cheesecake sitting around the house for me to eat. With this stuff around, I have noticed myself eating dessert before and after meals. And sometimes in between meals. And do I lick the plate after? Always.

Chocolate Cheesecake:

  • 1 package soft tofu
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 (9 inch) prepared graham cracker crust
  • 3 Tbsp cocoa powder

Chocolate Caramel Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup corn syrup
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa powder

And raspberries, too!

For the cheesecake:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a blender, combine the tofu, almond milk, sugar, vanilla extract, maple syrup, and cocoa powder. Blend until smooth and pour into pie crust.

3. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool; refrigerate until chilled.

Adapted from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/vegan-cheesecake/

For the chocolate caramel glaze:

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt butter. Stir in brown sugar, corn syrup, and salt. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil without stirring 4 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in baking soda, vanilla, and cocoa powder.

Adapted from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/caramel-popcorn/detail.aspx



Final touches:

Once the cheesecake has chilled completely, pour the glaze over the cheesecake and refrigerate. Add raspberries prior to serving.

Leave a Reply

