Experiments in Chocolate

20120227-220552.jpg

And so begins my new journey to find chocolate that I can easily make at home. I love chocolate and this recipe interested me. It’s three ingredients and takes just minutes to make. The coconut oil I was apprehensive about since I’ve never used it before. It was easy enough to find in the grocery store (by the Crisco) but it has 12 grams of saturated fat per tablespoon. Twelve. Grams. Thank God I don’t eat many foods with sat fat in it on a regular basis otherwise I would need bypass surgery after a spoonful of some coconut oil. It definitely came out oily and tasted like sugar covered in cocoa powder… which is basically what it is. But it was a good first attempt at making my own chocolate and I’m sure I will make this again. I’d love to be able to include this recipe in cookies, brownies, etc so keep an eye out!

20120227-220605.jpg

Chocolate

  • 6 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 8 Tbsp unrefined sugar
  • 4 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • (And of course I sprinkled dried cranberries on top because I’m obsessed)
  1. Melt the coconut oil in a pot on low heat. Stir in the sugar and cocoa/carob powder until it’s smooth. If you’re using a flavoring, like hot peppers or orange zest, stir that in as well.
  2. Line a pan with parchment paper, and pour in the liquid chocolate. If you’re using toppings, sprinkle them on top.
  3. Put the pan in the fridge to set, which takes 20-30 minutes depending on the temperature in your fridge.

Source: http://www.healthyveganrecipes.net/video/homemade-chocolate-recipe

Leave a Reply

