Black Bean Tortillas

20120312-213700.jpg

I started my new job today. I am still with the same company but in a new position. I used to drive 20 minutes everyday to work. Now I just take the elevator down. At lunch, I take the elevator back up. It is a vast improvement. Thanks to daylight savings and the short commute home, I was even able to squeeze in a 7 mile run this evening. Tomorrow I plan on walking to the grocery store and making something fun with the food I buy. Basically I am saving gas money and saving time and I can’t complain.

I made these tortillas for the bf on Sunday night and he loved them. The fact that I threw an entire serrano pepper in the mix definitely helped (he loves spicy food – and so do I!). If you hate spicy food, definitely leave the serrano out. I love serrano pepper because it adds a ton of spice and costs practically nothing. They are so little and light that they barely weigh anything on the produce scale.

This recipe is very loosely based on the recipe from Vegetarian Times’ cookbook Everything Vegan. They refer to these as Oaxacan Clayudas, which is probably the coolest name ever. The clayudas are like pizza but I’ve turned them into a quesadilla-type meal because who doesn’t love quesadillas?

20120312-213643.jpg

20120312-213650.jpg

Ingredients for black bean filling:

  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2  serrano pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 can black beans
  • 3 whole wheat tortillas

Ingredients for cilantro-salsa topping:

  • 6 cherry tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1/4 cup corn kernals cooked
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 avocado, cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1/2 serrano pepper, diced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Heat oil in saucepan over medium-heat. Add onion and cook for 5 minutes. Add garlic, serrano pepper and cumin and cook for 1 more minute. Remove mixture from stove and add it to a blender. Add black beans, brown sugar and 3 Tbs water. Blend until smooth.

2. Spread mixture onto one side of each tortilla. Fold the tortillas in half and place them on a baking sheet. Cook in the oven for 10 minutes.

3. Combine ingredients for the cilantro salsa.

4. Cut the tortillas into triangles. Top each triangle with the salsa. Serve immediately.

Adapted from: Vegetarian Times’ cookbook, Everything Vegan

http://www.amazon.com/Vegetarian-Times-Everything-Vegan-Magazine/dp/047054788X

2 thoughts on “Black Bean Tortillas

Leave a Reply

