Chocolate Strawberry Glazed Cupcakes

20120401-155134.jpg

I need to indulge occasionally. However, I have cut out so much unhealthy stuff in my diet that when I do indulge, I end up with a headache, sugar-induced coma, a stomach ache and a general sense of guilt. So, instead of eating a pint of ice cream and a bowl of brownie batter, I usually revert to eating somewhat healthy treats. Each of these cupcakes is about 200 calories, which is nothing special, but it’s nice to enjoy one when you are threatening to purchase your very own ice cream truck. These aren’t healthy. But they are lighter than regular cupcakes and they are just as delicious.

I have recently lost a few pounds mainly through exercise instead of diet. The weather has been so nice that finding an opportunity to run has been easy. I always attempt to “eat healthier” but I can’t seem to figure out what else to cut off of my diet. I don’t eat meat, dairy, or eggs. I’ve stopped drinking alcohol. I rarely consume sugar or candy. I don’t drink coffee or soda. I have made this a lifestyle – not a diet. Whenever I try to “eat healthier” it usually involves steaming my vegetables instead of cooking them in olive oil or reducing my intake of whole wheat pasta to once a week.

It sounds crazy to say it but I honestly can’t imagine how overweight I would be if I still consumed meat, soda, etc. I would probably look like 70% of Americans? I’m Ron Burgundy? I have a pretty high metabolism since I’m still young and I run 20-30 miles a week. Yet I have a normal and healthy weight for my height and body type. I just can’t believe how much it takes to maintain a healthy weight. It’s definitely not shocking that many people aren’t at their goal weight. When I was a kid I could eat cupcakes and Burger King everyday and stay skinny. Now, even kids’ metabolisms aren’t enough to save them from obesity.

What was that about cupcakes again? Oh, yes. Here they are. Enough about broccoli and on to the good stuff.

Ingredients (yields 12 cupcakes):

Cupcakes:

  • 1 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/2 baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1.5 tsp distilled white vinegar

Glaze:

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp Earth Balance
  • 2 Tbsp soymilk
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa
  • 2 large strawberries
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla

Directions for the cupcakes:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

20120401-155113.jpg

2. Mix dry cupcake ingredients together in a bowl. Add wet ingredients and mix together thoroughly.

20120401-155120.jpg

3. Fill a cupcake pan with liners. Pour the cake mixture into the liners until each one is 2/3 full.

4. Bake 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

5. Allow to cool for an hour.

20120401-155127.jpg

Directions for the glaze:

1. Bring sugar, Earth Balance, soy milk and cocoa to a boil, stirring frequently. Lower the heat and simmer for two minutes.

2. Stir in the vanilla and remove the glaze from the stove.

3. Add the glaze to a blender with the strawberries. Blend thoroughly.

4. Frost the cupcakes with the glaze and top with fresh strawberries.

20120401-155140.jpg

Adapted from: http://www.instructables.com/id/The-BEST-chococlate-cake-ever…that-happens-to-be/

One thought on “Chocolate Strawberry Glazed Cupcakes

  1. What divine & appetizing fabulously looking cupcakes! I love that specila strawberry glaze a lot! 🙂 Very clever thinking of you! 😉

Leave a Reply

