Steak ‘n Shake Chili Mac… Without the Steak… Or the Shake

20120331-195457.jpg

I grew up on Steak ‘n Shake. To this day, their fries are still my favorite of any fast food restaurant. I used to always get the chicken fingers and sometimes I would have the “chili mac supreme.” It’s basically pasta noodles with meaty tomato sauce and cheese piled on. I always picked out the meat as a kid but it’s still terrible for you. The chili mac supreme has 1,080 calories, 52 grams of fat, 27 grams of saturated fat, 1,500 mg of sodium and 125 mg of cholesterol.Ugh gross.

I’ve certainly come a long way since those days. Today, I make my own chili mac at home. I use black beans, tomatoes, corn and whole wheat rotini. The entire dish is enough to serve 2-3 people yet it has fewer than 700 calories total. The amount of fiber in this dish is also enough to keep you full and satisfied. I definitely don’t miss eating at Steak ‘n Shake now that I have such fantastic and healthy options to enjoy at home. Pair this with a few crackers and a small green salad and you’ll have a nice light dinner.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 small onion
  • 2 carrots chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 Tbsp oregano
  • 1/2 Tbsp coriander
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 can diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup frozen corn kernels

Directions:

1. Heat 2-3 Tbsp of the vegetable broth in the medium saucepan over high heat.

20120331-195515.jpg

2. Saute onion, garlic and carrots until onion is translucent.

20120331-195528.jpg

3. Add chili powder, cumin, oregano, coriander and black pepper. Cook for an additional minute.

20120331-195522.jpg

4. Add remaining vegetable oil and stir in black beans, tomatoes and corn. Bring contents to a boil.

20120331-195542.jpg

5. Reduce heat to medium and simmer for 15-20 minutes or until all broth is absorbed.

4 thoughts on “Steak ‘n Shake Chili Mac… Without the Steak… Or the Shake

  1. I just went to Steak n Shake for the last time. I ordered the supreme chili man with extra chili meat.
    I received a plate with spaghetti, a squirt of chili sauce, I dug through the spaghetti with my fork and I found 5, small pieces of meat ( the extra chili meat) that all fit in the spoon. There was no chili in it at all.
    I don’t know when this mess was made, being that it was luke warm at best.

Leave a Reply

