Iced Sugar Cookies

20120605-204930.jpg

I ended my 8 mile run yesterday at a running store so I could buy my first foam roller. Now I’m obsessed. I think I used it at least 5 times yesterday on probably 10 different muscle groups, which might’ve been overkill. If you haven’t used one before, you roll a muscle over the foam roller to essentially give the muscle a deep tissue massage. I am using it to focus mainly on repairing my IT band and my back muscles. I’m definitely sore today (maybe because of the 8 mile run?). I’m trying to do everything I can to reduce injuries so I can keep up with my running schedule. And I want to keep up with my running schedule for many reasons but mainly because of this reason…. COOKIES.

Ingredients for sugar cookies:

  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup Earth Balance, softened
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Ingredients for icing:

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp vanilla soy milk
  • 2 Tbsp corn syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions for sugar cookies:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Mix together flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a small bowl.

3. In a medium-sized bowl, mix together Earth Balance and sugar until smooth. Add in apple sauce and vanilla extract and mix until smooth.

4. Slowly add the dry ingredients into the bowl with the wet ingredients and mix thoroughly.

5. Form batter into small balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet.

6. Bake 8-10 minutes.

Directions for icing:

1. Stir together sugar and soy milk until smooth.

2. Add in corn syrup and vanilla and stir until smooth. Add additional corn syrup if it is too thick. Add additional powdered sugar if it is too runny.

20120605-204914.jpg

20120605-204952.jpg

Adapted from: Easy Sugar Cookies & Sugar Cookie Icing

7 thoughts on “Iced Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

