Gluten-Free Pesto Pasta

20120624-131129.jpg

I think I’m on day 9 of my cleanse but I’m honestly not trying to keep track very closely. I still crave sweets and pasta and since I won’t let myself cave in to sweets right now, I figured I might as well allow myself some pasta. I have been wanting to try gluten-free noodles lately so this GF cleanse provides a perfect opportunity. I found some pasta noodles made from wild rice. Since I am also not eating tomatoes right now, I decided to pair this pasta with pesto. I typically eat about 5 lbs of tomatoes every hour… yeah probably about that much. However, I love pesto so I knew this would still be delicious without involving tomatoes. I am also striving to get plenty of protein while cleansing hence the addition of the chickpeas to the dish.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. gluten-free pasta
  • 1/2 cup basil
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 yellow squash, chopped
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed
  • 1/4 cup matchstick carrots
  • black pepper, to taste
  • fresh dill, to taste

Directions:

1. Cook the pasta according to the package directions. I noticed that my rice-pasta cooked up a little faster than wheat-pasta so keep a close eye on it. Drain the pasta and set it aside.

2. Combine the basil leaves, pine nuts, and olive oil in a blender until smooth. Add water as needed to smooth out the consistency. Set pesto aside.

3. Saute the zucchini, yellow squash, yellow onion, chickpeas, and carrots in a pan over medium-heat until cooked through. Add black pepper and fresh dill to taste.

4. Pour the veggies over the pasta and top with the pesto sauce.

Yields 3-4 servings.

You might also like…

20120415-165004.jpg

Pasta Primavera

4 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Pesto Pasta

Leave a Reply

