Quinoa Mac N Cheese Tacos

20120703-184925.jpg

Do you ever go in the kitchen not knowing what to make and end up putting mac n cheese on taco shells? Apparently I do it too. I made vegan cheese and mixed it into quinoa. After tasting it, I realized it belonged on a taco shell. Surprisingly, the crunch of the shell worked perfectly with the smooth and creamy texture of the mac n cheese.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/5 block firm or extra firm tofu
  • 1/2 Tbsp tahini
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1/8 cup Earth Balance, softened
  • 1/8 tsp turmeric
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Cook quinoa according to package directions.

2. Combine remaining ingredients in a blender until smooth. Add water as needed to smooth out the consistency.

3. Mix cheese sauce into quinoa. Eat the mac n cheese like a normal person or put it on taco shells for fun change of pace.

Yields: 3 servings

6 thoughts on “Quinoa Mac N Cheese Tacos

  1. Oh.My.God. This looks amazing, I have been dying for a vegan mac and cheese style recipe..I AM MAKING THIS ASAP! I love that you put this in a taco..YES!

    • Thank you! I googled “tacos and mac and cheese” after making this to see if I was the only person with this idea haha – surprisingly I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

