Black Pepper Tofu

20120807-190643.jpg

I’m pretty sure I put black pepper on everything. It’s better than putting salt on everything, right? I received lots of great cook books for my birthday and I’ve barely even had time to try out as many of the recipes as I’d like. This recipe immediately caught my eye when I found it and I knew I had to get it cooking asap. The tofu turned out delicious – it’s like comfort-food tofu. Anything fried always takes me back to my childhood when I was obsessed with chicken nuggets. So many of the store-bought veggie chicken nuggets have dairy, egg or “autolyzed yeast extract” in them. I love deep frying tofu instead to get a similar effect but without all the weird ingredients. I served the tofu along with veggies and couscous for a simple and complete meal.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 package firm tofu (12-14 oz) cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil

Directions:

1. Mix flour, salt and pepper in a small bowl. Drain and dry tofu. Add a few cubes of tofu at a time to the bowl and cover with flour. Set the tofu cubes aside until each one is covered in the flour mixture.

2. Heat the oil over medium-heat in a skillet. Add the tofu to the oil in batches and lightly fry until firm and golden brown on all sides. Allow the tofu to cool on paper towels until all tofu has cooked.

Adapted from: Vegetarian: Over 100 Easy-to-Follow Recipes

You might also like…

20120705-204519.jpg

Braised Tofu

5 thoughts on “Black Pepper Tofu

Leave a Reply

