Lemon Seitan Stir Fry

20121110-230543.jpg

The only thing I love more than the taste of Upton’s Natural seitan is the name. Whoever decided to start up seitan company in Chicago and call it Upton’s is a genius. I knew I had to make something tasty with my seitan since it is a delicacy for me. My local grocery store doesn’t sell seitan (shame) so I have to drive 20 minutes to Whole Foods. Totally worth it. Except when you get all the way there and realize that you left your credit cards at home. I had to drive back home to get my cards then back again to Whole Foods. Basically devoted two hours of my day to Whole Foods. Not to mention, roughly $100 to Whole Foods, too… Whoops! Still totally worth it.

20121110-230549.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 – 8 oz package of seitan (I used the Italian flavor – delicious!)
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced or 1/8 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 red onion sliced into thin rings
  • 1 small broccoli crown, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/4 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup dry couscous

Directions:

1. Heat 1 Tbsp of oil over medium heat. Add the seitan and crumble it into smaller chunks. Squeeze or pour the lemon juice in with the seitan. Cook in oil and juice for 8-10 minutes until heated through and darker in color.

2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Add red onion, broccoli, and pepper to a medium-sized roasting pan. Toss in remaining olive oil. Place in oven for 20 minutes total. Stir every 5 minutes. When only 5 minutes remain, toss the rosemary, thyme, and pepper in with the roasted vegetables.

3. Boil 1/2 cup water in a small sauce pan. Add the couscous, cover and remove from heat. Allow to sit for 5 minutes then fluff with a fork.

4. Combine seitan, roasted vegetables, and couscous together and serve.

6 thoughts on “Lemon Seitan Stir Fry

  1. Yum! I like the sound of this.
    I can relate to your experience of spending $100 in no time. At my favourite local whole food market/health food shop, I have no trouble spending $100. It’s safer if I stay away!

  2. I’ve wanted to try Upton’s but I’m fortunate to have Denver Seitan stocked regularly at my local vegan shop, but I’m glad to know that Upton’s is a good option should I not be able to get DS. I also love that you used couscous instead of rice in the stir fry; it’s a nice little twist.

Leave a Reply

