The OCD Half Marathon Training Plan: Part One

My name is Vanessa and I have obsessive compulsive disorder. You wouldn’t know it by my alphabetized DVD collection, my color-coded binder at work, my receipt collection organized by date and store, or my excessive use of the following items: post its, multicolored highlighters, cleaning supplies, Ziploc bags, storage bins, and hand sanitizer. But yes, it’s true: I am only slightly OCD. This “attention to detail” transfers over into any form of athletic training that I attempt. I can’t just write a few work outs on to my calendar. I have to create an excessively obnoxious color-coded schedule. Here are the reasons why I couldn’t just suck it up and use a normal half marathon training schedule like everyone else:

1. I want a color-coded system so I can easily glance at the calendar and figure out what my work out is.

2. I have boy handwriting and therefore need to type out everything. My addiction to typing is probably related to my handwriting problem but that’s a discussion for another day.

3. Sometimes my schedule changes and I need to change my training schedule accordingly. I need a way to rearrange my schedule to accommodate my social or work plans.

4. I want a pretty and attractive schedule so that I can keep it out in plain view for quick access. If it’s too ugly, I’ll end up hiding it and ignoring it.

5. I have an obsession with Microsoft Excel because I have an obsession with organization and data analysis (*nerd alert*). For example, I don’t want to increase my mileage more than 10% per week so an Excel spreadsheet helps me keep track of this type of information.

My mission: Type up a plan in Excel that can be transferred to multicolored post it notes which can be arranged and rearranged on a fun and attractive calendar. Mission accepted. Stay tuned for Part Two on Friday!

5 thoughts on “The OCD Half Marathon Training Plan: Part One

  1. I could have written this. Seriously. I should own stock in plastic storage bins, highlighters and file folders. Excel is my best friend. I keep track of my workouts on a spreadsheet the no one else could possibly decipher. Hehe – thanks for the laugh at myself 😉 and for letting me know I’m not the only one!

    • Yes, you are not alone at all! Glad to hear you are the same way. I think my Excel spreadsheets are pretty cryptic too. I would need a legend to explain what everything means. At least it keeps me organized!

Leave a Reply

