Starving on $4 Per Day

I’ve accepted a challenge that I discovered via The Giving Table and I am pretty excited for it. I will be posting a recipe and and sharing how to eat healthy, vegan meals for $4 a day on April 8, 2013. Hunger affects millions of Americans who receive food stamps worth roughly $3 to $4 per person per day. The movie A Place at the Table documents how families handle the financial constraint of food stamps. My grocery bill is typically around $70 a week for one person. And then I eat food from out a couple times a week. I’m not sure how it happens but I end up spending $300-$400 a month on food. For just me. Someone on food stamps would be spending around $120 a month if they are relying solely on food stamps. So, I know it won’t hurt me to try something drastic. I want to eat on $4 a day for a week for two reasons:

1. To save money.

2. To see how it feels.

Saving money will certainly benefit me. Seeing how it feels to “live off food stamps” will hopefully benefit someone else. I want this experience to give me a better understanding of a world that exists far from my own. Someday maybe I can have an impact, no matter how small, on the current food system. As a foodie, it would give me no greater pleasure for all people to be able to enjoy healthy and fresh food like I do.  And world peace. I want world peace, too. But let’s start with hunger first.

7 thoughts on “Starving on $4 Per Day

  1. This is something that matters to me. I grew up in a food insecure house. Currently, my vegan parents live off of food stamps (actually it is no longer “food stamps” it’s an EBT card).There have been cuts and they get less than $120 per month. My mom coupons to help bring home more food. They eat beans often. She bakes bread and makes homemade tortillas. They buy what fruits and veggies are on sale. They make alot of vegan pizzas. They grow a few things in pots on their apartment’s balcony. A couple of months ago they foraged almost 40 pounds of pecans. I don’t know how they do it. Thank you for bringing attention to this.

  2. Pingback: $28 Worth of Food | V is for Vegetables

Leave a Reply

