$28 Worth of Food

20130329-112337.jpg

As part of the hunger challenge, I am heading to the grocery store with a list of ingredients that will hopefully add up to $28. I will be eating vegan on $4 a day for a week. I am trying to balance cheap food with healthy and filling meals. I like to leave coupons to the pros so I plan on getting everything without the use of coupons. Here is my list for the week:

  • 1 box of instant oatmeal – 10 packets ($1.67)
  • 2 boxes of spaghetti ($2.00)
  • 1 can of pasta sauce – 24 ozs ($.89)
  • 4 granny smith apples – 2 lbs ($3.41)
  • 1 bag of frozen vegetables – 12 ozs ($1.00)
  • 2 cans of black beans ($1.38)
  • 2 cans of corn ($.78)
  • 2 cans of green beans ($.78)
  • 3 bags of lettuce ($7.50)
  • 1 container of organic tofu – 14 ozs ($1.69)
  • 1 bag of potatoes – 24 ozs ($2.99)
  • 1 bag of clementines -3 lbs ($3.99)
  • Total = $28.08

Whew – just eight cents over my goal! The biggest part of the challenge is done! I’m amazed at how much food I have. I can make a wide variety of entrees, sides and salads with the items I’ve purchased. I’m relying on as few pantry staples as possible (spices, cooking oils, sugar, etc) but will allow myself to include a small amount of these items as salad dressing for example. Pretty much everything I bought was non-processed, whole foods. I bought items that have nutrients and lots of fiber to keep my stomach full. To be honest, I’m a little surprised that I was able to get so much. Granted, I happened to walk in on some good deals at a low cost grocery store (thanks, Kroger). Regardless, this definitely gives me hope that other individuals and families can reduce their grocery bill and still eat healthy.

I’m always amused when people tell me a healthy diet is too expensive since the costs associated with eating poorly are much greater in terms of healthcare. However, now I have proof I’m not crazy! I’m just crossing my fingers that this food will last me for a week. Find out on April 8 if I’ve survived the challenge!

6 thoughts on “$28 Worth of Food

  1. Great idea! I think you made great choices although I can’t handle instant oatmeal, I need rolled oats. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear how this progresses. I shared this post on my facebook. I’m sure other families will be inspired.

  2. Thanks for sharing your plans for Food Bloggers Against Hunge. I’m participating too and going to try and feed my family suppers for five days on twenty dollars. We will see how the week goes.

    Amy @ crispyshipley.com

Leave a Reply

