Food Bloggers Against Hunger: Banana Oatmeal Cookies

20130317-215324.jpg

I made it! I went a week of living on $4 a day to see what it is like to live on food stamps. I ate vegan and healthy with mostly non-processed foods from scratch. At breakfast, I ate one packet of instant oatmeal.  For most lunches, I ate salads with lettuce, corn and black beans. At dinner, I typically ate spaghetti with red sauce. I had a few sides and snacks including apples, roasted potatoes, mandarins, green beans, and tofu vegetable stir fry. It was a boring week in my kitchen but I can’t believe it only cost $28. I still had a can of green beans, 1/2 of a box of spaghetti, and a couple mandarins leftover.

Why did I spend the week eating like this? It’s all due to a wonderful event hosted by The Giving Table. Today, there are lots of bloggers posting about hunger in order to raise awareness. Check out the trailer for A Place at the Table for more information. It is a new movie from the creators of Food, Inc all about the hunger crisis in America. To get involved,  I not only ate for $4 a day one week but I also decided to make a budget-conscious recipe to share. Get ready for… banana oatmeal cookies!

This is definitely the easiest cookie to make. The best part is that it might just be the healthiest cookie ever, too! The cookies are free of dairy, eggs, flour, added sugar, and nuts (unless you want to add nuts). I almost don’t want to post the actual recipe since it’s so easy. Just one banana and a half cup of dry oats mixed together and baked at 350 for 15 minutes. They are delicious and healthy enough to eat for breakfast. Yes, I ate these for breakfast and it was guilt-free. Ok, I threw in a small handful of vegan chocolate chips too since I’m going through a chocolate chip phase. But they are still somewhat healthy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium-sized banana
  • 1/2 cup of dry oats
  • Any small amount of mix ins you desire such as chocolate chips, walnuts, or cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Mash together a ripe banana and the oats in a bowl with a fork. Add in any additional mix in items.

3. Form the batter into cookies on a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes until slightly browned.

Yields: 4 cookies

Source: The Burlap Bag

10 thoughts on “Food Bloggers Against Hunger: Banana Oatmeal Cookies

  1. I’m impressed that you actually managed to live on $4.00 a day for a week (the coffee I had this morning cost more than that!). I’m going to check out links you have on this post after I finish this note – this event you’re involved with sounds wonderful.

    • It’s a great event and I was happy to participate. I have a different thought on food now too. It’s harder for me to drop $4 on a drink like I used to! Thanks for visiting.

  2. Congrats! I’m really impressed, and so happy to see proof that you can be vegan- a good comeback for “ughcch, it’s just so expensive.” I too am in a big vegan chocolate chip phase- I can’t stop making and eating the Happy Herbivore cookbook’s vegan chocolate muffins. Double the chocolate chips. Still pretty much almost fat free and contains a whole banana, zucchini, and a 1/2 c applesauce in the batch to boot. Congrats again! You did it!

  3. What a fantastic idea… can’t believe that you can make a cookie out of three ingredients! I’ve just discovered your blog Vanessa and I wish I’d heard of the Food Bloggers Against Hunger thing earlier… is it a unified event or can you do it any time? (I mean, did I miss it?) I had a quick look at the website. Need to keep reading. Definitely a worthy cause… I heard on the radio this morning about families who are skipping meals to just pay the electricity and water bills. It’s so horrible. I think going back to basics definitely says something… we can survive on so much less than the modern world says is ‘necessary’.

    • Thanks! I’m so glad I heard about the Food Bloggers Against Hunger event. It’s a great way to raise awareness and, yes, anyone could participate! So sad that some people struggle to get by these days so I am happy to spread awareness in anyway I can. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

